My Mission (or Post #1)


When I was in my teens, I had fun and went to school.

When I was in my twenties, I got married and worked.

When I was in my thirties, I had kids (and that was a full-time job!).

When I was in my forties, I went back to school, got a law degree, and then worked for 10 years for a civil rights attorney and as a prosecutor/trial attorney at the Los Angeles District Attorney’s Office.

When I was in my fifties, I finally learned … middle aged women are worth nothing in our society.


Cynical?  Maybe.  But true!


This Blog is my attempt to navigate my new world, and try to start a new profession writing and communicating with the world on topics about which I am passionate, or about which I just wanna bitch.

“I am woman, hear me roar.”      🙂     (Thank you to Helen Reddy for that quote).

Published in: on April 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://maryareed.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/mymission/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Here is Maria Shriver asking how a woman gets through a “transition” time in her life, and some of the answers are really interesting. Of course she is talking about her divorce from Arnold, but it struck me that she is a beautiful, accomplished, intelligent woman and her age is a factor is why she feels so adrift at this time. Just another item I related to this blog post. 🙂

    Check it out:

    Maria Shriver Asks – How Do You Handle Transitions in Your Life: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sux6hjX_7iQ

  2. I haven’t read this book yet, but I’m going to get it as soon as its available at my local library:

    “Between a Rock and a Hard Place: Why Fifty is Not the New Thirty” by Tracey Jackson.

    Here’s an great article about it in the Los Angeles Times by Susan Salter Reynolds, “Being middle aged, and treated that way.”

    According to this review, the book makes the point “with humor and a firm hand” that this culture, whose rules have been followed by women for decades (school, marriage, children, career) suddenly discards them at age 40 or “barely recycles them.” It seems the ultimate message is to ‘[c]owboy it up’ and not to expect the Princess scenario. Hmmmmm. Yes, we already knew that.

    I’m just glad someone is talking about it. 🙂

  3. Middle aged women worth nothing? what are you smoking?

    *teens – so syrupy and stupid and plyable
    *20’s – coming into our own, finding love and family and a place in the world through work or at home
    *30’s – raising future citizens. I find this decade the most unselfish and satisfying but also not alot of self anything until the kids get old enough. 🙂
    40’s – rediscovering what you like in life and being smart enough now to go after it!
    50’s and more – not there yet but looking forward to it as each child grows and moves out and I can do all the things we put off.

    Turn that frown upside down Mary! Your not getting older, just getting better!


Leave a Reply

